Research Network Steering Committee - LGBTIQ+ Health Australia

Research Network Steering Committee

LGBTIQ+ Health Australia (LHA) established the Steering Committee for practical and strategic advice in developing an effective and sustainable LGBTIQ+ health and wellbeing research network. 

The Steering Committee membership includes: 

  • Dr Adam Bourne (he/him), Associate Professor, Australian Research Centre for Sex, Health and Society (ARCSHS), La Trobe University. 
  • Morgan Carpenter (he/him), Executive Director, Intersex Human Rights Australia (IHRA). 
  • Cristyn Davies (she/her), Research Fellow, Children’s Hospital Westmead Clinical School and Specialty of Child and Adolescent Health, Faculty of Medicine and Health, University of Sydney, NSW, Australia; and: adjunct, Sexualities and Genders Research, School of Social Sciences, Western Sydney University, NSW, Australia.
  • Madi Day (they/them), Lecturer, Department of Indigenous Studies, Macquarie University. 
  • Tina Dixon (she/her), PhD Candidate Australian National University 
  • Professor Martin Holt (he/him), Researcher Convenor, Centre for Social Research in Health, UNSW Sydney. 
  • Professor Mark Hughes (he/him), Chair of Discipline (Social Work and Community Welfare), Southern Cross University. 
  • Elise Kennedy, Assistant Director, Health Section, Health and Disability Branch, Australian Bureau of Statistics.
  • Associate Professor Ashleigh Lin (she/her), Program Head, Mental Health and Youth, Telethon Kids Institute.
  • Associate Professor Julie Mooney- Somers, Qualitative Research in Health, Faculty of Medicine and Health, The University of Sydney. 
  • Associate Professor Dr Christy Newman (they/she), Associate Professor, UNSW Centre for Social Research in Health, UNSW Sydney. 
  • Dr Steven Philpot (he/him), Research Associate, Kirby Institute. 
  • Professor Kerry Robinson (she/her), Director Diversity & Human Rights Research Centre, School of Social Sciences, Western Sydney University
  • Caroline Roga, Assistant Director, Australian Bureau of Statistics 
  • Michael Salter (he/him), Scientia Associate Professor of Criminology, School of Social Sciences, UNSW . 
  • Bep Uink (she/her), Research Fellow, Kulbardi Aboriginal Centre, Murdoch University; Honorary Associate, Telethon Kids Institute.

The steering committee’s Terms of Reference are available here.

LGBTIQ+ Health Australia Logo
Facebook logo Twitter logo YouTube logo

ABOUT LGBTIQ+ Health Australia
LGBTIQ+ Health Australia, (formerly the National LGBTI Health Alliance), is the national peak health organisation in Australia for organisations and individuals that provide health-related programs, services and research focused on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer people and other sexuality, gender and bodily diverse (LGBTIQ+) people and communities. Dropping the “+” from our name only occurs within digital formats that do not allow mathematical symbols, such as within our domain name, handles and hashtags.
LGBTIQ+ Health Australia acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia, their diversity, histories and knowledge and their continuing connections to land and community. We pay our respects to all Australian Indigenous Peoples and their cultures, and to Elders of past and present.