Diversity Framework - LGBTIQ+ Health Australia

Diversity Framework

The Commonwealth’s Aged Care Diversity Framework was launched in December 2017.

The framework, along with its accompanying Action Plans, laid the groundwork for aged care providers to better serve and meet the needs of all aged care recipients regardless of their background, life experience or care needs

The initial Action Plans focused on First Nation’s people, people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds and older LGBTI people.

The Action Plans provide a step-by-step guide for providers to deliver appropriate services and care to all aged care recipients – including people with diverse backgrounds and characteristics. That said, there is no direction to providers that mandates their implementation.

This joint statement between LHA and the age care sector allows aged care providers to publicly signal their intention to reflect and improve. It is a step toward developing services that are high quality, safe and appropriate. It provides a connection to LHA's Silver Rainbow program for training and building the capacity of the aged care sector to provide quality care for LGBTI older people.




LGBTIQ+ Health Australia Logo
Facebook logo Twitter logo YouTube logo

ABOUT LGBTIQ+ Health Australia
LGBTIQ+ Health Australia, (formerly the National LGBTI Health Alliance), is the national peak health organisation in Australia for organisations and individuals that provide health-related programs, services and research focused on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer people and other sexuality, gender and bodily diverse (LGBTIQ+) people and communities. Dropping the “+” from our name only occurs within digital formats that do not allow mathematical symbols, such as within our domain name, handles and hashtags.
LGBTIQ+ Health Australia acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia, their diversity, histories and knowledge and their continuing connections to land and community. We pay our respects to all Australian Indigenous Peoples and their cultures, and to Elders of past, present and future generations.